Parliament Website

Fiftieth Anniversary Of The National Union Of Seaman Strike

EDM number 62 in 2016-17, proposed by Ian Mearns on 23/05/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial relations and Shipping.

That this House commemorates the 50th anniversary of the National Union of Seamen (NUS) strike for a 40-hour working week and an increase in monthly pay to £60 or around £780 by 2016 prices; notes that the stoppage lasted 47 days and involved over 26,000 seafarers on nearly 1,000 ships across the globe; further notes that regional NUS officials were subject to covert state surveillance during the dispute which was only concluded by the introduction of emergency legislation; recognises that NUS members who took strike action in 1966 achieved a shorter working week, better pay and democratisation of their union; notes that the NUS's successor, the National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers, continues to campaign for employment, equality and safety improvements for UK seafarers; is concerned that a 72-hour working week is legal for seafarers; is appalled that shipping companies in the UK pay seafarers as little as £2.25 an hour; and calls on the Government to remember the 1966 NUS strike through effective enforcement of the national minimum wage in the UK shipping industry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Ian Mearns23/05/2016GatesheadLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins23/05/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth23/05/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/05/2016Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Stephen Doughty23/05/2016Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Shannon24/05/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Dennis Skinner24/05/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens25/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon25/05/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
George Kerevan25/05/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale25/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/05/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law06/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn09/06/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black04/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.