Parliament Website

Smileawi Dental Charity In Malawi

EDM number 1016 in 2017-19, proposed by Brendan O'Hara on 05/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Charities and Health services.

That this House commends the great work of Vicky and Nigel Milne of the the Hollies Dental Practice in Dunoon who have since 2012 been providing voluntary dental services to the people of Malawi and who in 2016 founded Smileawi, a charity dedicated to bringing treatment and pain relief to thousands of the world's poorest people who otherwise would never be able to access dental care; recognises the immense contribution made by all of Smileawi's self-funded volunteer dentists and dental nurses who have established regular surgeries in classrooms, churches or existing clinics across Malawi; notes that since purchasing a five-chair portable dental clinic, Smileawi has recently managed to expand its service into the more rural parts of Malawi; acknowledges the contribution Smileawi has made in bringing together the existing Malawian dental professionals to work together to build a better service for the entire population; congratulates Smileawi on organising an annual conference, held each year in the city of Mzuzu, which gives the therapists the opportunity to improve their skills as well as discuss the individual and common challenges they face; appreciates all Smileawi is doing in Malawi; and wishes Smileawi all the very best for the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Brendan O'Hara05/03/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartyProposed
Stewart McDonald06/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon06/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day06/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell07/03/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands08/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady08/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine08/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart13/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown15/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry19/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.