Parliament Website

The Illegal Organisation Of The Russian Presidential Election In Ukraine

EDM number 1067 in 2017-19, proposed by John Grogan on 13/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, International politics and government and Russia.

That this House welcomes the address of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine to the International Community regarding the organisation of the Presidential Elections of the Russian Federation in the Temporarily Occupied Areas of the Territory of Ukraine, the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol; notes that on 18 March 2014 the Russian Federation illegally annexed the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol; further notes that over the four years since that time, the Russian Federation has been committing a crime of aggression against Ukraine and occupying parts of its territory and that the Russian authorities are planning to hold elections for the President of the Russian Federation in the temporarily occupied territories of the autonomous Republic of Crimea, where they have detained many Crimean Tatar leaders for their opposition to the annexation and the City of Sevastopol on 18 March 2018 in violation of the UN Charter; and concludes that the conduct of the election for the President of Russian Federation in the temporarily occupied territory of Ukraine is illegal.

This motion has been signed by a total of 14 MPs.

John Grogan13/03/2018Proposed
John Whittingdale13/03/2018MaldonConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon14/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Gavin Robinson14/03/2018Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Jonathan Djanogly14/03/2018HuntingdonConservativeSeconded
Ben Lake15/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Mary Glindon15/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley16/03/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Stephen Doughty19/03/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
David Simpson20/03/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Bob Blackman21/03/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.