Parliament Website

Premier Inn

EDM number 1104 in 2017-19, proposed by Lloyd Russell-Moyle on 21/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Industrial relations, International trade, Pay and Service industries.

That this House condemns Whitbread PLC's decision to quit the Ethical Trade Initiative (ETI) after just 18 months of membership; notes that Whitbread owns Costa Coffee, Premier Inn and Brewer's Fayre; fully endorses the ETl's code on freedom of association; criticises any organisations that centre their business models on low pay, long working hours, poor employment conditions and the exploitation of EU free movement in order to maximise profits; supports the nine pillars of equal pay for young workers, proper rest breaks, adoption of the real living wage, paid transport for staff when working hours past 12am, a robust anti-sexual harrassment policy, a minimum hour contract, staff consultation on rota changes, 100 per cent of tips earned going to staff and trade union access in the workplace as outlined in Unite's Fair Hospitality Charter; and calls on companies in the hospitality sector to work with the ETI and Unite and other relevant trade unions to ensure that people are treated fairly and with dignity in the workplace.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeProposed
Kelvin Hopkins22/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham22/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Martyn Day26/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens26/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Mearns27/03/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
Marie Rimmer27/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Mike Hill28/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
David Linden28/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon29/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mark Hendrick10/05/2018PrestonLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alison McGovern07/06/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.