Parliament Website

Retention Of Guards On Merseyrail Trains

EDM number 112 in 2017-19, proposed by Dan Carden on 03/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House welcomes the current guarantee of a guard on every train to provide service, safety and security for Merseyrail passengers; recognises the vital role that guards play in providing advice and assistance and deterring criminal and anti-social behaviour; acknowledges that guards have essential skills and training to enable them to carry out safety critical duties including dealing with fire, evacuations and driver incapacity; is concerned by proposals to remove all of the guards to help pay for new rolling stock, resulting in a dispute situation and strike action on Merseyrail trains; is further concerned that the cuts are being proposed despite Merseyrail paying out up to £14 million a year, or one quarter of all passenger income, in dividends; believes that guards are vital for passenger service safety and security; and therefore calls for guards to be retained on Merseyrail trains.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Dan Carden03/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourProposed
Chris Matheson03/07/2017City of ChesterLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns03/07/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn03/07/2017Newport WestLabourSeconded
Kate Hoey03/07/2017VauxhallLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris03/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Ruth Smeeth03/07/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jo Stevens03/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hill04/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner04/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Laura Smith04/07/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Jim Shannon04/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Lisa Nandy04/07/2017WiganLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham05/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens05/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison McGovern11/07/2017Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Clive Lewis13/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Angela Eagle19/07/2017WallaseyLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Williamson25/01/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.