Parliament Website

Insolvency Service Decision On Sir Philip Green

EDM number 1142 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 28/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Insolvency.

That this House expresses disgust at the Insolvency Service's decision not to ban billionaire Philip Green from serving as a company director for his disgraceful stewardship of BHS prior to selling the company for £1; notes that under Green's mismanagement, this long-running British business collapsed with a pension deficit of more than £500 million; expresses concern at the impact on hardworking BHS staff of losing their jobs and having their pensions put at risk; further notes that Green and other shareholders extracted £586 million from BHS, and Green indulged in a grotesquely lavish lifestyle including a £150 million yacht, while the UK taxpayer had to pay £367 million in tax credits to BHS workers whose wages were not enough to live on; observes that Green allowed Dominic Chappell to take over BHS despite the fact that Chappell had been bankrupt three times; notes that Green's businesses are registered in Monaco, a tax haven, in order to escape paying tax which should have gone to the UK Exchequer and been spent on essential public services; believes that Green has demonstrated that he is not a fit or proper person to run any business, and should not be permitted to do so; calls on the Insolvency Service to urgently reconsider the decision not to impose a ban; and further believes that banning Green would be good for business in the UK and would show that this kind of predatory exploitation of workers and the public purse is unacceptable.

This motion has been signed by a total of 11 MPs.

Roger Godsiff28/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Jim Shannon29/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham29/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon29/03/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/04/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Frank Field16/04/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Martin Docherty16/04/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/04/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George23/04/2018High PeakLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.