Parliament Website

Poor Performance On Northern Rail Services

EDM number 1240 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 08/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Railways and Standards.

That this House notes the Public Accounts Committee report into Rail Franchising in the UK which recognised that Passengers on the Thameslink, Southern and Great Northern franchise have suffered an appalling level of delays and cancellations since the franchise started in 2014 and that the franchising model is broken; further notes that the problems which franchising has brought to Southern Rail services, including shortage of staff, over-reliance on rest day working and overtime, shortage of trained drivers and poor management planning resulting in frequent cancellations, are now also being replicated on Northern Rail services; is concerned that passengers across the North are now being left waiting at stations, not knowing when, or if, trains will run; is further concerned that plans to introduce driver-only operated trains will exacerbate those problems; and calls on the Government to launch an urgent inquiry into the crisis at Northern Rail and give consideration to stripping Arriva of the Northern franchise and placing the service in public ownership.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Ian Mearns08/05/2018GatesheadLabourProposed
Tim Farron08/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Grahame Morris08/05/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Lisa Nandy08/05/2018WiganLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham08/05/2018Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon08/05/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins08/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens08/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell09/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon09/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hill09/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/05/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle10/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Thelma Walker11/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Jo Stevens14/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/05/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell16/05/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Kevan Jones16/05/2018North DurhamLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kate Green17/05/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick17/05/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer21/05/2018Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John Woodcock22/05/2018Barrow and FurnessLabourSigned
Albert Owen22/05/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Liz Twist23/05/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Kate Hollern04/06/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Emma Lewell-Buck07/06/2018South ShieldsLabourSigned
Hilary Benn18/06/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper26/06/2018West LancashireLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.