Parliament Website

Fracking In The Former Coalfield Areas

EDM number 1303 in 2017-19, proposed by John Mann on 22/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Energy, Environmental protection and Oil, petrol and natural gas.

This this House welcomes the contribution of Professor Emeritus Peter Styles of Keele University, past-President of the Geological Society and formerly advisor on fracking seismology to Prime Minister David Cameron and the Department for the Environment and Climate Change on his new report presented to the Yorkshire Geological Society on the likely impact of fracking in former coalfield areas and the increased earthquake risks; notes Professor Styles's demonstration of the significantly enhanced risk of earthquakes posed by fracking beneath coal-mined areas where mining-induced seismicity has already occurred; further notes his conclusion that this may have a significant impact on estimates of UK frackable gas reserves; calls on the Government to introduce a 500-metre buffer zone between former mine workings and current technologies for extracting unconventional energy sources and implement the 2015 and 2018 recommendations of an 850 metre buffer zone between fracking and any significant natural fractures or faults; urges the Government to examine the industry's capability and capacity to identify faults or fractures likely to lead to any prohibited seismic events; further urges the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government to adopt Professor Styles's best practice recommendation that planning applications for any fracking site include all available, high-resolution, carefully mapped data sets and incorporate these in the National Planning Policy Framework, with reference to applications to frack; and further calls on the Government and local authorities to place a moratorium on fracking-related activities in coalfield areas which consider Professor Styles's findings and report their conclusions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

John Mann22/05/2018BassetlawLabourProposed
Jim Shannon23/05/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Ronnie Campbell23/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins23/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Kevin Barron23/05/2018Rother ValleyLabourSeconded
Thelma Walker24/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSeconded
Mike Amesbury24/05/2018Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Ruth George24/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alex Norris04/06/2018Nottingham NorthLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Dennis Skinner04/06/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper04/06/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Grahame Morris05/06/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Toby Perkins06/06/2018ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer12/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden14/06/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Farrelly20/06/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Tim Farron20/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.