Parliament Website

Modernising Defence Programme And Trident Nuclear Weapons

EDM number 1332 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 04/06/2018.

That this House notes that the Government has launched the Modernising Defence Programme (MDP) to review UK defence priorities; expresses disappointment that the MDP will not consider the UK's commitment to the Trident nuclear weapons system, nor its affordability, safety or strategic relevance; highlights that the estimated costs of the Trident replacement programme continue to increase; calls on the Government to use the MDP to deliver an analysis of the costs and benefits of investing in the Trident nuclear weapons system, considering the impact this investment will have on other areas of spending, including the defence budget; recommends that as part of this analysis the Government explores alternative ways of directing investment for Trident towards other national defence priorities suited to fit the modern day international security climate, such as in UN peacekeeping and UK maritime patrol; and further calls on the Government to use the MDP to consider the development of a Defence Diversification Agency in a bid to ensure the creation of sustainable jobs into the future across a spectrum of industries and fields.

This motion has been signed by a total of 6 MPs.

Caroline Lucas04/06/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Ronnie Cowan04/06/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
04/06/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Hywel Williams04/06/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Brown04/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens04/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.