Parliament Website

Paisley Sma' Shot Day

EDM number 136 in 2017-19, proposed by Gavin Newlands on 05/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House celebrates Paisley Sma' Shot Day which was organised on 1 of July 2017; recognises that this annual event celebrates Paisley's radical past particularly the political battles between the town's weavers and their employers; notes that these political protests were crucial in the extension of the workers' rights that we all enjoy today; further notes that the annual Sma' Shot Day celebrations brings the town of Paisley together, with thousands of people also attending from across the UK; notes that the most recent celebration has been hailed as the best ever which included the inaugural Weave music festival, highlighting the important role that music has played in Paisley's rich history; and believes that the Paisley Sma' Shot Day celebrations highlight once again why the town deserves to be named as the UK City of Culture 2021.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Gavin Newlands05/07/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Mhairi Black05/07/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan05/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock05/07/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman05/07/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown05/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty05/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Patrick Grady06/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day10/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry11/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
John McNally11/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden12/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney13/07/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Chris Stephens17/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.