Parliament Website

The Royal Society Of Biology's Parliamentary Links Day (No.2)

EDM number 1435 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Metcalfe on 20/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Parliament and Science.

That this House congratulates The Royal Society of Biology on organising this 2018's Parliamentary Links Day on 26 June on behalf of the science and engineering community; applauds the theme of Science and the Industrial Strategy; welcomes the Society's continuing commitment to serve the public interest by improving the access of all hon. Members to scientific information and a better understanding of science; notes the involvement of the Institute of Physics, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the British Pharmacological Society, the Biochemical Society, the Physiological Society, the Geological Society, the British Ecological Society, the Nutrition Society, the Genetics Society, the Society for Applied Microbiology, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Society for Experimental Biology and many others; further notes that the event will be launched by Mr Speaker and will include keynote contributions from the hon. Member for Newcastle Central, the right hon. Member for Norfolk North and the right hon. Member for Tunbridge Wells; notes the contributions from many other eminent scientists and communicators; notes that Parliamentary Links Day is an established and respected event on the annual Parliamentary calendar; notes that the Royal Society of Biology and the scientific community remains committed to assisting right hon. and hon. Members on all sides of the House with access to scientific advice; and further welcomes the continuing contribution that Parliamentary Links Day makes to strengthening the dialogue between Parliament and the science and engineering community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 9 MPs.

Stephen Metcalfe20/06/2018South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley21/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon21/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Patrick Grady21/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Bob Blackman21/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins21/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.