Parliament Website

Georgia 100th Anniversary

EDM number 1500 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Djanogly on 10/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, International politics and government and Russia.

That this House congratulates the people of Georgia on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the declaration of independence; welcomes the growth of political relations and cooperation in a variety of fields between the UK and Georgia, including intensifying inter-parliamentary cooperation; encourages further development of bilateral trade, economic and investment cooperation between the UK and Georgia for mutual benefit; reaffirms the UK's unwavering support for Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders; commends the people and Government of Georgia for their successful reforms in recent years towards consolidating democracy, ensuring human rights protection, rule of law, media freedom and good governance as well as strengthening government transparency and judicial independence; expresses concern that after 10 years of the Russia-Georgia war and the occupation of Georgian regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali region, South Ossetia, by the Russian Federation the security and human rights situation on the ground has been further aggravated; and recommends that the UK and Georgia should continue close cooperation with the aim to further deepen the Georgian-UK partnership, both in bilateral and multilateral formats and work together towards an open Europe of unity and solidarity to contribute to global peace and security.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Jonathan Djanogly10/07/2018HuntingdonConservativeProposed
Gordon Marsden10/07/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSeconded
Paul Masterton10/07/2018East RenfrewshireConservativeSeconded
Crispin Blunt10/07/2018ReigateConservativeSeconded
Bob Neill10/07/2018Bromley and ChislehurstConservativeSeconded
Nigel Evans10/07/2018Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Andrew Rosindell10/07/2018RomfordConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson10/07/2018TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Henry Bellingham10/07/2018North West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins10/07/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards11/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Bob Blackman12/07/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Chris Law16/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John Whittingdale16/07/2018MaldonConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson16/07/2018Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jim Shannon16/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Gavin Robinson17/07/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
John Spellar19/07/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Angela Smith23/07/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman04/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly09/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.