Parliament Website

60 Years In Exile - Dalai Lama Of Tibet

EDM number 1532 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Law on 17/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Human rights and Religion and faith communities.

That this House congratulates His Holiness the Dalai Lama of Tibet on his 83rd birthday this year; acknowledge his positive contribution to humanity with his unwavering message of compassion and promotion of human values; recognises that his message of peace, compassion and nonviolence has resonated throughout the world, bridged divides and inspired millions to recognise the common humanity among us; further notes that 2018 marks 60 years of Tibetans' fleeing of their homeland and arrival in exile after Chinese occupation of their homeland; further recognises that Tibetans have shown extra-ordinary strength and spirit in keeping their religion and culture alive and celebrates this year as a Thank-You-Year to governments and people around the world for their support and friendship in the past 60 years; recalls the House that Britain had longstanding relations with the People of Tibet and urges the Government to express our solidarity with their religion and culture which the Dalai Lama has represented with extraordinary dignity and persistence; further share our concerns at the systematic repression and continued human rights abuses in Tibet by the Chinese Government; and encourages the Chinese Government to open up dialogue for peace-with representatives of the Dalai lama.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Chris Law17/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartyProposed
Philippa Whitford17/07/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray17/07/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden17/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day17/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart Hosie17/07/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford17/07/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley17/07/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Mann17/07/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hywel Williams17/07/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts17/07/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake17/07/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Brendan O'Hara17/07/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown17/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands17/07/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards17/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon18/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Carol Monaghan18/07/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson18/07/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma19/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman23/07/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/07/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens23/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady24/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell24/07/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry24/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows24/07/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black24/07/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.