Parliament Website

Nelson Mandela Scottish Memorial Foundation

EDM number 1534 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 17/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International politics and government and Racial discrimination.

That this House notes that 18 July 2018 is the centenary of the birth of the great Nelson Mandela, and sends its best wishes to millions in South Africa and around the world for Mandela Day; further notes that Mandela Day is an opportunity to remember the role played by the UK Anti-Apartheid Movement, which was crucial in defeating racial segregation in South Africa; notes that the city of Glasgow was the first of nine cities in the UK to award Nelson Mandela the Freedom of the City while he was still in prison; acknowledges that Glasgow renamed St George's Place in the city to Nelson Mandela Place, a significant move as the then South African Consulate General occupied the Stock Exchange Building in that street; commends the work of the Nelson Mandela Scottish Memorial Foundation, whose aims are to create a statue of Nelson Mandela in Glasgow, increase knowledge and awareness of his life and legacy, and the role of Glasgow and Scotland in the worldwide campaign for his release, and against apartheid; supports the fundraising efforts to raise £250,000 to create a statue; and encourages people to contribute generously to the campaign.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Chris Stephens17/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss17/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden17/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan17/07/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady17/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald17/07/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins17/07/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Spellar17/07/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney17/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara17/07/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly17/07/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/07/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Drew Hendry18/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards18/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law18/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan19/07/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day19/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma19/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley04/09/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/09/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.