Parliament Website

Funding For Wales Post-Brexit

EDM number 1552 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 23/07/2018.
Categorised under the topic of EU law and treaties.

That this House expresses deep concern about the future of funding for Wales once the UK leaves the EU; recognises that between 2014 and 2020, Wales will have received over £2 billion from the EU through European Structural Funds; further recognises that these funds help to support people into work and training, youth employment, research and innovation, connectivity and urban development; reminds the UK Government that Vote Leave explicitly said Wales would not lose out and would receive Brexit dividend; regrets that the UK Government are yet to publish any details about the UK Shared Prosperity Fund the new body responsible for allocating funding post-Brexit on a UK-wide basis; further regrets that this body sits within the Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government, a Department only for English affairs; believes that it is crucial that the UK Shared Prosperity Fund, reflects the needs-based structures of the EU's structural funds; and urges the UK Government to ensure that the distribution and allocation of these funds are devolved to the Welsh Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards23/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Hywel Williams23/07/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/07/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake23/07/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
David Linden24/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham24/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Douglas Chapman04/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard04/09/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally04/09/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/09/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George06/09/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Albert Owen11/09/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.