Parliament Website

Iranian Attack On Camp Inside The Kurdistan Region In Iraq

EDM number 1606 in 2017-19, proposed by Mary Glindon on 10/09/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Middle East and Military operations.

That this House strongly condemns the Iranian Revolutionary Guard Corp's bombardment of an Iranian Kurdish refugee and political camp in Koya, which is within the borders of the officially recognised Kurdistan Region in Iraq and 200km from Iran; notes that the six ground-to-ground missiles accompanied by a drone were designed to coincide with a meeting of the leadership of the Kurdistan Democratic Party of Iran; sends its condolences to the families of those killed and wishes a speedy recovery to those who were wounded; believes that this was a blatant violation of international law, sovereignty and good neighbourly principles; further notes that the US and its allies in the international coalition still retain responsibility for protecting the airspace of Iraq; fears that failure to respond to Iran's violation will encourage the Iranian regime to take further action; believes that Iraq and the Kurdistan Region should not become a battlefield for the major powers' conflict of interest; and urges the UK and other countries to make protests to the Iranian regime at the UN and other levels about that regime's actions and for all such activity to cease forthwith.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Mary Glindon10/09/2018North TynesideLabourProposed
Jim Shannon11/09/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day11/09/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley11/09/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens11/09/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/09/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Gavin Robinson12/09/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards12/09/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/09/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Bob Blackman12/09/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mike Gapes12/09/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman13/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Linden13/09/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff13/09/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandy Martin13/09/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle09/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George11/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Pete Wishart06/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.