Parliament Website

Bank Of England Staff Pay Dispute

EDM number 163 in 2017-19, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions, Industrial relations and Pay.

That this House is appalled by the derisory pay settlement that has been imposed upon staff at the Bank of England; notes that the staff affected are dedicated workers fulfilling a range of functions within the organisation including security and maintenance; expresses concern that this is the second year running that staff have been given a below inflation pay offer; raises concerns that as the pay distribution is at the discretion of the management this means that some staff will not receive a pay rise in 2017 whatsoever; contrasts this with the rising cost of living; highlights the difficulties these workers face in making ends meet on such low wages; sees it as a mark of shame that the iconic symbol of UK financial services is actually snubbing low paid and vulnerable workers in spite of their hard work and dedication to their jobs; and urges the Bank of England to go back to the negotiating table with the trade union, Unite in order to avoid industrial action and engage in meaningful discussion to bring an end to this dispute.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Lisa Nandy11/07/2017WiganLabourProposed
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns11/07/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens11/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin11/07/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Clive Lewis12/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
John Spellar13/07/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Neil Coyle17/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Clive Betts17/07/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Wes Streeting20/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff13/09/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.