Parliament Website

Death Penalty Assurances

EDM number 1681 in 2017-19, proposed by Edward Davey on 11/10/2018.

That this House notes with great concern the Home Secretary's decision to offer assistance to the US in the prosecution of two British citizens, Alexanda Kotey and El Shafee Elsheikh, without seeking assurances that the death penalty will not be used; further notes that Ministers have confirmed that death penalty assurances have been waived on two previous occasions since 2001; believes that the UK must oppose the death penalty in all circumstances, that death penalty assurances are an important mechanism to prevent the use of the death penalty, and that the UK must not provide assistance where it might directly or significantly contribute to the use of the death penalty; and calls on the Government to reform its Overseas Security and Justice Assistance guidance to remove ministerial discretion over decisions to seek death penalty assurances or to provide assistance where no assurances are forthcoming, and to establish a robust system of oversight of these decisions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Edward Davey11/10/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratProposed
Alistair Carmichael11/10/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Evans15/10/2018IslwynLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens15/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards16/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
David Linden17/10/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse26/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake26/10/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron29/10/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine30/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson30/10/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.