Parliament Website

Merseyside Fire & Rescue Service

EDM number 1779 in 2017-19, proposed by George Howarth on 30/10/2018.

That this House notes with alarm that in the period 2010-11 to 2019-20, Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service will experience a 50 per cent real terms reduction in Government grant; further notes that this will lead to a reduction in the Authority's revenue budget from £73.6 million to £59.9 million, amounting to a wholly unacceptable reduction of £13.7 million; expresses grave concern that as a consequence of cuts the number of firefighters has reduced from 1,000 to 620 full-time equivalents; draws attention to the fact that although the Authority had usable reserves of £27.7 million in 2017-18, £17.8m of those funds are being used for capital schemes already underway, £3 million to enable recruitment of firefighters to replace those reaching retirement age, a £1 million provision for catastrophic incidents, a smoothing reserve of £1.8 million, and general reserves of only £2 million dispelling any belief that the current reserves represent a viable mechanism through which to sustain the Fire and Rescue Service; further expresses great concern that the Authority despite its efforts to introduce efficiencies and savings will no longer be able to fund a service which is safe for the public; and calls on the Government to urgently review the need for additional funding.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

George Howarth30/10/2018KnowsleyLabourProposed
Maria Eagle30/10/2018Garston and HalewoodLabourSeconded
Angela Eagle30/10/2018WallaseyLabourSeconded
Conor McGinn30/10/2018St Helens NorthLabourSeconded
Louise Ellman30/10/2018Liverpool, RiversideLabourSeconded
Luciana Berger30/10/2018Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSeconded
Stephen Twigg30/10/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Dan Carden31/10/2018Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell31/10/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Frank Field31/10/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer31/10/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham31/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens01/11/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Hendrick01/11/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson01/11/2018Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/11/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Kate Hoey05/11/2018VauxhallLabourSigned
Chris Williamson05/11/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/11/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Mary Glindon06/11/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Alison McGovern06/11/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/11/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper12/11/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Jo Stevens19/11/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn19/11/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas26/11/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Ruth George26/11/2018High PeakLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.