Parliament Website

Abolition Of The Hereditary Peerage

EDM number 179 in 2017-19, proposed by David Hanson on 12/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of House of Lords and Members of the Lords.

That this House notes the election to replace the 10th Earl of Walpole to be held on 18 July 2017; further notes that only 31 electors can take part in this election and that there are 10 candidates; notes that the hereditary principle holds no place in a modern democracy; declares that the UK should finally abolish the 92 hereditary peers from the House of Lords; and notes that the by-election process of hereditary peers risible as it meas that a small constituency of hereditary peers can elevate a peer to produce laws and question Ministers without any say by the British public.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

David Hanson12/07/2017DelynLabourProposed
Martyn Day13/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty13/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden13/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Doughty13/07/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts13/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Luke Pollard17/07/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jo Stevens17/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
John McNally17/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss17/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner18/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Alan Brown18/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tony Lloyd18/07/2017Signed
Patrick Grady18/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara18/07/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer18/07/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Vincent Cable20/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.