Parliament Website

EU Citizens And The Prime Minister's Comments To The CBI Conference

EDM number 1866 in 2017-19, proposed by Layla Moran on 20/11/2018.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and Immigration.

That this House condemns the Prime Minister's use of the phrase jumping the queue during her speech to the CBI conference on 19 November 2018 to describe EU citizens living and working in the UK; believes that the use of this phrase incorrectly implies that EU citizens exercising their rights to work in the UK have acted improperly; further believes that the use of this phrase by the Prime Minister has caused great offense to EU citizens across the UK who have already faced unnecessary uncertainty due to the Government's failure to provide clarity over their future rights and status following the 2016 referendum; expresses its gratitude to the contribution made to our society, communities and economy by citizens of other EU member states living and working in the UK; urges the Prime Minister to apologise for her offensive remarks; and calls on the Government to end the continuing ambiguity surrounding the status of EU citizens after Brexit and to guarantee all the rights, freedoms and opportunities that EU citizens in the UK and UK citizens in the EU currently enjoy in the event that the UK leaves the European Union.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Layla Moran20/11/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Norman Lamb20/11/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Wera Hobhouse20/11/2018BathLiberal DemocratSeconded
Caroline Lucas21/11/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jonathan Edwards21/11/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake21/11/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle22/11/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Mike Gapes22/11/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd22/11/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan22/11/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael23/11/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine26/11/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law27/11/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/11/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts27/11/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ruth George28/11/2018High PeakLabourSigned
David Linden28/11/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.