Parliament Website

Citizens Advice Scotland Report On HELMS Green Deal Mis-Selling

EDM number 1869 in 2017-19, proposed by Alan Brown on 21/11/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Energy conservation and Housing.

That this House welcomes the publication of the Bad Company report by Citizens Advice Scotland (CAS) and commends the local impact study on the same issue by East Ayrshire Citizens Advice Bureau (EACAS); notes that the Bad Company report highlights endemic consumer issues with one green deal supplier, Home Energy and Lifestyle Management Systems (HELMS); further notes that the Chief Executive of Citizens Advice Scotland, Derek Mitchell, has written to the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy to ask the Government to urgently take action to help and support consumers who have been left stressed and distressed by becoming HELMS customers; notes that this includes asking the Government to instruct an independent body to contact all affected customers and support them in the complaints process, to review all complaints in order to clarify how widespread mis-selling was, establish a dedicated redress scheme for HELMS customers to fast-track complaints and provide satisfactory compensation for people affected, find a solution for consumers who were mis-sold Feed-in Tariffs so that any lost payments are refunded and affected householders are the registered beneficiaries for future payments, and provide bespoke solutions for customers who have complex issues to resolve around faulty goods and Building Warrants; notes that CAS is aware of over 1,140 complaints lodged with different agencies from consumers from many areas of Scotland and that those cases could be the tip of the iceberg; further welcomes the additional report from EACAB, Deal or no Deal, which details local impacts, and commends the work of CAS in highlighting this issue and standing up for consumers; and urges the Secretary of State for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy to act on the requests from CAS.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Alan Brown21/11/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands21/11/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford21/11/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson21/11/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Angela Crawley21/11/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara22/11/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon22/11/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Cowan26/11/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham27/11/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law27/11/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/11/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards27/11/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Docherty28/11/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Linden28/11/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady29/11/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.