Parliament Website

Land Value Capture

EDM number 1884 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 28/11/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Planning.

That this House welcomes the report of the Housing, Communities and Local Government committee on its inquiry into Land Value Capture published in September 2018 and the report on the inquiry undertaken by the All Party Group on Land Value Capture Capturing Land Value for the Public Benefit published in November 2018; notes the comments in recommendation 22 of the HCLG Committee report that a truly efficient and equitable system of land value capture should not focus solely on new developments, but should also address how existing properties benefit from development and particularly from public investments in local infrastructure; endorses the call of the Committee on the Government to commission a cross-departmental project to consider how this wider goal might be achieved reporting back to the committee by September 2019; further notes the conclusions and recommendations of the APPG on Land Value Capture report that the capture of land value for the public benefit include greater devolution of land value capture mechanisms to mayoral and local authorities, reform of the 1961 Land Compensation Act to provide for public acquisition of land at close to existing use values, replacement of business rates with a system based on site value rating, and the making of council tax more proportional to land rental values; and calls on the Government to take the findings of the APPG inquiry into consideration in reporting back to the HCLG committee.

This motion has been signed by a total of 10 MPs.

Caroline Lucas28/11/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Edward Davey28/11/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Matt Western28/11/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSeconded
Stephen Lloyd28/11/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSeconded
Tom Brake28/11/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Vincent Cable28/11/2018TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew28/11/2018Signed
Chris Williamson28/11/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Layla Moran29/11/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/11/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.