Parliament Website

Humanitarian Crisis In The Gaza Strip

EDM number 208 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 18/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Electricity, Human rights, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House is deeply concerned about the ongoing humanitarian crisis in the Gaza Strip; notes that the blockade of Gaza by the Israeli and Egyptian authorities has been in place for 10 years, violates international law and continues to impoverish civilians in Gaza; recognises that Gaza remains under Israeli occupation and that Israel's military controls Gaza's land and maritime borders; notes that the Palestinian Centre for Human Rights has said Gaza will be unliveable for its 1.8 million inhabitants by 2018; expresses grave concern at the combination of lsraeli, Egyptian, Palestinian Authority and Hamas policies that have made the situation in Gaza acutely worse over the past month; condemns the Israeli decision of 19 June to cut electricity supply to Gaza on the request of Palestinian Authority President Mahmoud Abbas; further notes that on 12 July the sole power plant in Gaza shut down due to lack of fuel; expresses concern that inadequate supply of power will result in critical services, including hospital intensive care, being shut down; calls on all parties urgently to engage in talks to resolve the electricity crisis; and calls on the Government to apply pressure to the Israeli and Egyptian authorities so as to ensure the basic needs of civilians in Gaza are met.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Caroline Lucas18/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
John McNally18/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard18/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan19/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens19/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq20/07/2017Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner20/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Albert Owen05/09/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Helen Hayes05/09/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford05/09/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham06/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martin Docherty06/09/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/09/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Patrick Grady11/09/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff13/09/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.