Parliament Website

21 Years Of Kinning Park Complex

EDM number 216 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 18/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Community care.

That this House notes the 21st anniversary of the saving of the Kinning Park Complex; understands that a sit-in protest, which began on 3 May 1996 and lasted for 55 days and nights, saved the Kinning Park Complex (KPC) from closure by Glasgow City Council; further understands that the sit-in protest resulted in a community takeover of the KPC, creating a community-owned centre which continues to thrive to this day; believes that KPC makes a substantial contribution to communities across south west Glasgow, which is reflected in the number and variety of events, classes and meetings that are hosted by KPC each year; and congratulates KPC on its 21st anniversary and wishes the management team, staff and volunteers every success for the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Alison Thewliss18/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
David Linden18/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady18/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown18/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands18/07/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald18/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon18/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Grant18/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law18/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows18/07/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson18/07/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie18/07/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald19/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz20/07/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Christine Jardine05/09/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Sweeney05/09/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.