Parliament Website

Conflict With North Korea

EDM number 243 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 05/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control, Asia, International politics and government and Nuclear power.

That this House expresses concern about the nuclear and missile testing by North Korea and the potential risk that provocative actions, threats and exercises in or near North East Asia and the Pacific which could lead to the use of nuclear weapons by intention or miscalculation; recognises that there are no safe hands for nuclear weapons and that any detonation of a nuclear device would be a humanitarian catastrophe with global impacts; acknowledges that further threatening and isolating the North Korean regime risks increasing the causes of conflict rather than encouraging solutions; urges the Government to use all appropriate diplomatic and international legal means to end nuclear threats, including active support for the UN Secretary-General and the EU in their offer to assist with negotiations with North Korea, and encouraging a return to the Six Party Talks involving China, North Korea, South Korea, Japan, Russia and the US; believes the objective of such talks should be to find immediate and longer term diplomatic solutions, including creating a zone free of nuclear weapons in North East Asia, a process to address the underlying causes of regional insecurity and conflict on the Korean Peninsula, and the promotion of peace, development and cooperative co-existence and security for all peoples in the region; and calls on the Government to reject a military solution to the conflict and to urgently use its influence to press for all involved to avoid and refrain from further provocative rhetoric or military exercises and tests.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Caroline Lucas05/09/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Catherine West06/09/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams06/09/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day06/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden06/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards06/09/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ronnie Campbell06/09/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma07/09/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law07/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty12/09/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan13/09/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson13/09/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake13/09/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman11/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock01/11/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins22/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn19/01/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Angela Crawley08/03/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.