Parliament Website

Forth Valley College Centre Of Excellence For STEM

EDM number 252 in 2017-19, proposed by Martyn Day on 05/09/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Further education.

That this House congratulates Forth Valley College in Central Scotland and recognises that, in 2012, the college was one of the first in Scotland to be named as STEM-assured and that this status was re-accredited in 2016; believes that it is one of the leading providers of STEM-related education and training in the UK, with an 87 per cent success rate in its courses, which is 16 per cent above the Scottish sector average, and 18 out of its 19 Engineering Construction Industry Training Board apprentices achieving an A, with the other being awarded a B; notes that it is linked with more than 20 counterparts in other countries, bringing the potential for joint training initiatives involving its eight STEM-embedded departments; recognises its £1.2 million upgrade to the current engineering facilities at its Falkirk campus to provide the best possible atmosphere for learning; further believes that the new £83 million Falkirk Campus, which is due to open in 2019, will have a strong focus on STEM provision and will offer international industry-standard learning environments; understands that the college is one of the largest providers of modern apprenticeships, with more than 1,000 apprentices, many of whom are involved with STEM or similar subjects; commends its commitment to provide high-quality education recognised by the TES FE Award in 2016 for Learning and Teaching and its Association of Colleges Beacon Award for Innovation; and wishes it continued success.

This motion has been signed by a total of 13 MPs.

Martyn Day05/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartyProposed
David Linden06/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Kerr06/09/2017StirlingConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon06/09/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens06/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson07/09/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law07/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan12/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady13/09/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.