Parliament Website

A19 Road Safety

EDM number 267 in 2017-19, proposed by Grahame Morris on 05/09/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House calls on the Government to undertake an urgent review into road safety on the A19; expresses concern at the regularity and number of accidents on the A19 which frequently result in road closures and diversions through villages and residential areas; believes that the Department for Transport should also undertake a cost-benefit analysis of road improvements compared to the excessive costs to the emergency services when attending road traffic accidents; further believes that there are a number of structural issues such as short slip roads, multiple exits, slow-moving vehicles and significant vehicle volume; recognises issues of driving standards, excessive speed, failure to maintain suitable distances between vehicles and other dangerous driving practices; is concerned at the ongoing austerity cuts by the Government which are restricting resources and reducing officer numbers for Durham Police, the only outstanding police force in the country according to HM Inspector of Police; notes that the A19 is vital for the North East's economy and the local economy on the East Coast; calls on the Government to add substance to its Northern Powerhouse rhetoric by investing in North East road infrastructure and specifically the A19 as a major economic contributor for the region; and demands that the Department for Transport undertake an urgent review of road safety on the A19 to identify necessary structural improvements, the need for greater traffic enforcement and actions to improve driver behaviour and driving standards on the A19.

This motion has been signed by a total of 11 MPs.

Grahame Morris05/09/2017EasingtonLabourProposed
Mike Hill05/09/2017HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Laura Pidcock05/09/2017North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon05/09/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
Stephen Hepburn05/09/2017JarrowLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell05/09/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Paul Williams05/09/2017Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns05/09/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Chris Stephens05/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/09/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Tim Farron26/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.