Parliament Website

Swansea's City Of Culture 2021 Bid

EDM number 425 in 2017-19, proposed by Tonia Antoniazzi on 18/10/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House welcomes Swansea's shortlisting to be named UK City of Culture in 2021, reminding the UK of the richness of the Welsh heritage in this creative and cultural city; recognises its diversity, urban and creative, coastal and rural, historic and innovative; further recognises that Swansea has a cosmopolitan city centre coupled with traditional seaside charm, and was awarded the UK's first Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, with award-winning beaches and dramatic landscapes; notes that Swansea is a city with a rich and diverse mix of the very best of British and Welsh ingredients; further welcomes the contribution to the city's cultural identity made by the University of Swansea and the University of Trinity St David, both of which add to the vibrancy and diversity of the city; further notes Swansea's ambition and drive that have successfully secured investments including a new City Deal and, subject to approval, the world's first tidal lagoon, both of which will create a new digital and innovative cultural infrastructure for Swansea; notes the cross-party support for Swansea's bid within the city and across the region; and calls on the Government to support Swansea's bid to be named UK City of Culture in 2021.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Tonia Antoniazzi18/10/2017GowerLabourProposed
Carolyn Harris18/10/2017Swansea EastLabourSeconded
Geraint Davies18/10/2017Swansea WestLabourSeconded
Stephen Kinnock18/10/2017AberavonLabourSeconded
Emma Hardy18/10/2017Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn18/10/2017Newport WestLabourSeconded
Stephen Doughty18/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/10/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
David Davies18/10/2017MonmouthConservativeSigned
Gerald Jones18/10/2017Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Wayne David18/10/2017CaerphillyLabourSigned
Ben Lake18/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Bryant18/10/2017RhonddaLabourSigned
Chris Elmore18/10/2017OgmoreLabourSigned
Jessica Morden18/10/2017Newport EastLabourSigned
Jo Stevens18/10/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner19/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin20/10/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hugh Gaffney20/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ellie Reeves24/10/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.