Parliament Website

Executive Pay And Inequality

EDM number 454 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 25/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Pay.

That this House notes with concern that executive pay rises continue to run at levels far above inflation, while ordinary workers have seen their wages stagnate; further notes that the 2017 Conservative manifesto stated that the next Conservative government would bring in legislation to ensure executive pay was subject to annual votes by shareholders and that pay ratios were published; notes that since that election, the Government has backtracked on this commitment; observes that if those at the top of companies continue to grab a larger share for themselves, less is left for ordinary workers whose labour was responsible for the company's success and who deserve to receive at the very least a fair wage they can afford to live on; further observes that grotesque rates of inequality are hugely damaging to our society, and that more equal societies perform better on a wide range of measures; believes that executives should not receive higher percentage pay rises than their lowest-paid staff; further believes that greater equality on pay would benefit both society in general and company performance; and calls on the Government and the Prime Minister to keep their promises on pay, and legislate to bring in measures on the publication of pay ratios and giving small shareholders and employee representatives a majority vote Remuneration Committees of all public limited companies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Roger Godsiff25/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Jim Shannon26/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mary Glindon26/10/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens26/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham26/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle30/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Martyn Day30/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner30/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards30/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts30/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Linden31/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer31/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
John McNally31/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss01/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill01/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ben Lake02/11/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Dan Carden03/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Hywel Williams19/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.