Parliament Website

Lifting The Ban On UK Flights To Sharm El Sheikh

EDM number 468 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Lord on 30/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and Aviation.

That this House welcomes the successful implementation of the UK-Egyptian joint action plan and substantial investment in upgrading security at Sharm El Sheikh airport using UK expertise in transport and security services; understands that Sharm El Sheikh airport is now considered by Department for Transport officials as one of the safest airports in the world; further notes that the UK Foreign Office safety categorisation for Sharm El Sheikh is green meaning that it is assessed as safe; acknowledges the reinstatement of flights to Sharm El Sheikh from other European countries including Germany, Italy and Belgium and the resumption of holiday flights from the UK to Tunisia; and calls on the Government to review the situation urgently, taking account of updated security advice and to consider lifting immediately the ban on flights from the UK to Sharm El Sheikh.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Jonathan Lord30/10/2017WokingConservativeProposed
Stephen Timms30/10/2017East HamLabourSeconded
Bob Blackman30/10/2017Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
John Spellar30/10/2017WarleyLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans30/10/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson30/10/2017Lagan ValleyDUPSeconded
Mike Gapes30/10/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon30/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley30/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Bernard Jenkin30/10/2017Harwich and North EssexConservativeSigned
Andy Slaughter30/10/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds30/10/2017Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Sammy Wilson30/10/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Emma Little Pengelly30/10/2017Belfast SouthDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr30/10/2017North AntrimDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma31/10/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Simpson31/10/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle31/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Amess01/11/2017Southend WestConservativeSigned
Kevan Jones02/11/2017North DurhamLabourSigned
Ian Mearns03/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Jeremy Lefroy03/11/2017StaffordConservativeSigned
John Grogan06/11/2017Signed
Crispin Blunt06/11/2017ReigateConservativeSigned
Mike Amesbury07/11/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson13/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Hugh Gaffney16/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith20/11/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock26/04/2018AberavonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.