Parliament Website

Newsquest - The Herald And Evening Times Newspapers

EDM number 539 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 14/11/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House is alarmed by recent actions by Newsquest, owner of The Herald and Evening Times newspapers; is concerned by the approach to five senior members of staff offering redundancy packages; notes that in the last few weeks, the Editors of The Herald and Evening Times were told they would be stood down to the role of Deputy Editor with substantial pay cuts; further notes that those Editors were told they would operate in the same way as previously but under one Editor for both titles; notes that both Editors refused those offers and faced dismissal before intervention by the National Union of Journalists so that exit packages were negotiated; notes that a Deputy Sports Editor has also left with an exit package; is concerned that there are serious doubts about the new structure and concerns over extreme workloads that will drive up stress and over bullying; and believes that these measures will affect the quality of both titles

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Chris Stephens14/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Joanna Cherry14/11/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald14/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss14/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady14/11/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald14/11/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden14/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands14/11/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan14/11/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon15/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day15/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law15/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara16/11/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney20/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham20/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan21/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Clive Lewis04/12/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.