Parliament Website

Marriage Equality In Australia

EDM number 540 in 2017-19, proposed by Lloyd Russell-Moyle on 14/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Australasia, Equality and Marriage.

That this House welcomes the result of the Australian marriage equality survey which had a resounding result for the yes campaign with 61.6 per cent in favour; notes that the turnout for the survey was 79.5 per cent, higher than that of the 2017 general election or EU referendum turnout; further notes that this means an overwhelming majority of the Australian people now want their Government to make marriage equality legal in their country; calls on the UK Government to work with other nations around the world to end all forms of discrimination against LGBT+ people; and congratulates Australian marriage equality campaigners for their many hard years of work.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/11/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeProposed
Stephen Doughty14/11/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSeconded
Jo Platt14/11/2017LeighLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Jonathan Edwards15/11/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts15/11/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hugh Gaffney15/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Chris Law15/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alex Sobel15/11/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Stephens15/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Morgan15/11/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas15/11/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter15/11/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
David Lammy15/11/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Thelma Walker15/11/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Catherine West15/11/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner15/11/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Sandy Martin15/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman15/11/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield15/11/2017East LothianLabourSigned
Ged Killen15/11/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Angela Eagle15/11/2017WallaseyLabourSigned
Chris Bryant15/11/2017RhonddaLabourSigned
Helen Hayes15/11/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Kevan Jones15/11/2017North DurhamLabourSigned
Emma Hardy15/11/2017Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker15/11/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald16/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner16/11/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas16/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Grahame Morris16/11/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hill20/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting20/11/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff20/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jo Stevens21/11/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine21/11/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss21/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth21/11/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Matt Rodda22/11/2017Reading EastLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi23/11/2017GowerLabourSigned
Clive Lewis23/11/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Matt Western23/11/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Dan Carden23/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
David Linden27/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Harriet Harman20/12/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.