Parliament Website

Generous Gift To Glasgow University

EDM number 609 in 2017-19, proposed by Philippa Whitford on 28/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Higher education and Special educational needs.

That this House recognises the generosity of Joan Muir for gifting a rare collection of the complete works of Robert Burns in braille to the University of Glasgow; commends Bill Nolan, the Irvine Burns Club Secretary, for his part in the decision to offer the collection in perpetuity to the University's Centre for Robert Burns where they shall be preserved and more importantly, utilised; honours the importance of braille history and Ms Muir's and Mr Nolan's significant role in furthering braille accessibility and education to the blind community; and celebrates the enjoyment of Robert Burns' poetry and philosophy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Philippa Whitford28/11/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartyProposed
John McNally28/11/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan28/11/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman28/11/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan28/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens28/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray28/11/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald28/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson28/11/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock28/11/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss28/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day29/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law29/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon29/11/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady05/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell11/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.