Parliament Website

Local Bank Branch Closures

EDM number 626 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 01/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Financial services.

That this House condemns the decision of the majority state-owned RBS Group to close 259 branches, covering its RBS and NatWest brands; notes that those closures bring the total number of local bank branch closures to over 1,000 since 2015; further notes that such closures are expected to result in 680 job losses; is concerned of the effect that those closures will have on the access to banking services for communities across the UK; notes that vulnerable people and rural communities rely on physical branches to access basic banking services; notes that the Unite Union has accused RBS of decimating the network and betraying communities; notes that such closures highlight the need for a publicly-supported, community-based bank network; calls on the Government to explore the possibility of a Community Reinvestment Bill, which would encourage depository institutions to help meet the credit needs of the communities in which they operate; and further calls on the Government, as the majority shareholder of RBS Group, to act to reverse those closures and ensure there is necessary access to banking services for all.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards01/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts01/12/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams01/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake01/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Caroline Lucas01/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Ian Blackford01/12/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray01/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty04/12/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan04/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/12/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden04/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil04/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan04/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day04/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon05/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
John McNally05/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine05/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Grady05/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald05/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle06/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
David Simpson06/12/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss07/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell11/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker12/12/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.