Parliament Website

Air Pollution

EDM number 629 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 01/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection and Pollution.

That this House notes that 5 December 2017 is the 65th anniversary of the lethal Great Smog of London, which brought the city to a standstill for four days and during which at least 4,000 people lost their life; further notes that by 5 December 2017 an estimate suggests that 8,700 people will have died prematurely in London since the start of the year due to major air pollutants, with more than one person an hour dying before their time; believes that air pollution is a critical human and climate crisis the world over and that every global citizen should have the right to breathe clean air; welcomes the New Weather Institute's #smogday initiative being launched between Delhi, a city with some of the worst air pollution in the world, and London, to remember the victims of air pollution; further welcomes the fact that the 65th anniversary of the Great Smog of London coincides with 193 countries negotiating a series of resolutions on pollution at the UN; encourages all UK cities to be part of the UN Environment's BreatheLife campaign to improve urban air quality; and calls on the Government to stop passing responsibility for tackling air pollution to local authorities and instead take immediate action centrally to ensure nationwide compliance with air quality standards, including a public sector air quality duty obliging all public bodies to take into account the effect of air pollution whenever they make a decision on public services or public funds and urgently legislating for more clean air zones that would charge the dirtiest vehicles to enter the UK's most polluted cities and bring in a diesel scrappage scheme without delay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Caroline Lucas01/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Tim Farron04/12/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Sobel05/12/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Christine Jardine05/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Edward Davey05/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Matt Western05/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle06/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney06/12/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Ben Lake07/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Layla Moran11/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker12/12/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams11/01/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.