Parliament Website

Roadchef Employees Benefit Trust (No. 2)

EDM number 693 in 2017-19, proposed by Neil Gray on 14/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Employment, Financial services and Taxation.

That this House notes with concern that over 200 current and former employees of Roadchef Motorway Services at Harthill, Annandale Water, Bothwell and Hamilton in Scotland are still awaiting a decision from HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) to repay the Roadchef Employees Benefit Trust the £10 million which was wrongly paid by Timothy Ingram Hill as tax on Roadchef share sale proceeds of over £26 million, which he obtained in breach of trust; believes that these funds, and its interest, belonged to the Trust, as ruled by the High Court in 2014; further believes that this case constitutes unjust enrichment by HMRC which should be remedied; further notes that many of the Roadchef employees were low-paid catering and cleaning staff and that many have sadly passed away; calls on HMRC to use its discretion to refund the full amount so that 4,000 current and former employees of Roadchef throughout the UK can receive their just entitlements; and further calls on the Government to review the regulation of employee benefit trusts in light of this case.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Neil Gray14/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day14/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards18/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Shannon18/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Law18/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens18/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan19/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham19/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden19/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss20/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman25/04/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.