Parliament Website

Save Our Scotch Campaign

EDM number 724 in 2017-19, proposed by Martin Docherty on 20/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Manufacturing industries and Regulation.

That this House acknowledges the on-going campaign Save our Scotch, which is being led by the Unite Union that aims to obtain protection for blended Scotch whisky similar to that of single Malt whisky; notes that under the Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009, Single Malt Scotch Whisky must be bottled in Scotland but blended Scotch Whisky is not afforded the same level of legislation; further notes that the Unite Union has concerns over a growing trend towards blended whisky being shipped abroad in bulk and bottled in various places around the world; recognises that the Scotch Whisky industry plays a vital role in the Scottish economy and directly employs 10,000 workers whilst additionally supporting more than 30,000 jobs across the UK; believes that blended whisky being shipped abroad in bulk and bottled in various places puts many of the jobs in Scotland at risk and that action is required by the Government to ensure long term protection of blended Scotch Whisky in Scotland; and calls for cross party efforts to support this iconic and vital industry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Martin Docherty20/12/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Drew Hendry20/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens20/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden20/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law20/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson20/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon21/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham21/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands22/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara22/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry22/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford23/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman24/01/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally24/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns21/03/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Grahame Morris21/03/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.