Parliament Website

Appointment Of Toby Young To The Board Of The Office Of Students

EDM number 742 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 08/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Higher education and Students.

That this House deeply regrets the appointment of Toby Young to the Board of the Office of Students; notes the seven principles of public life, including selflessness, integrity, and objectivity, known as the Nolan principles and set out in the Department for Education's application guidelines; considers the stream of sexist, misogynistic, homophobic and otherwise abusive or derogatory tweets and public comments by Mr Young over a period of many years to reflect a fundamental lack of judgement and integrity wholly incompatible with the Nolan principles; believes there to be no shortage of alternative candidates for membership of the Board of the Office of Students; and calls on the Government to rescind Mr Young's appointment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Caroline Lucas08/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Jo Swinson08/01/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Layla Moran08/01/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Lammy08/01/2018TottenhamLabourSeconded
Stephen Doughty08/01/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSeconded
Stephen McCabe08/01/2018Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Linden08/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry08/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman08/01/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law08/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan08/01/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty08/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/01/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards08/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts08/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Flynn08/01/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Patrick Grady08/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens08/01/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald08/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford08/01/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns09/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan09/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill10/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle15/01/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Marie Rimmer15/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard17/01/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George19/01/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes24/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.