Parliament Website

Collapse Of Carillion

EDM number 810 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 16/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Insolvency.

That this House believes that the liquidation of Carillion marks the end of the discredited neo liberal economic doctrine initiated by President Reagan and Prime Minister Thatcher in the 1980s, and slavishly adhered to by successive governments which have privatised public services; notes that this collapse demonstrates that outsourcing essential public services to profit-oriented private companies is inefficient and a waste of public funds; further notes that using PFI or PPP to finance public sector projects is proving ruinous to many hospitals and schools around the UK; notes that Treasury figures put the capital investment value of current private finance deals at £58bn yet there are outstanding cash commitments of £232bn, while many of the buildings constructed have a lifespan of only 30 or 40 years before needing to be rebuilt; welcomes the growing realisation that outsourcing public services to private companies whose primary concern is profit rather than the wellbeing of UK citizens will serve only to fatten the profits and raise the executive pay of these companies, many of which are located offshore and do not pay UK tax; calls on the Government to prioritise keeping Carillion's services running and ensuring its employees receive their full pay and pensions; urges the Government to ensure that Carillion's management do not benefit financially from their mismanagement of the company; and hopes that public sector contracts will now be brought back into the hands of national government, which is elected to serve the interests of the people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 11 MPs.

Roger Godsiff16/01/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Dennis Skinner17/01/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell17/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens17/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris18/01/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas18/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.