Parliament Website

Killiecrankie Battlefield Site

EDM number 940 in 2017-19, proposed by Pete Wishart on 20/02/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House believes that the UK's historic battlefield sites should be preserved and celebrated as part of national culture; recognises the importance and significance of the battlefield site at Killiecrankie and its iconic place in Scotland's history; notes that this was the first battle of the Jacobite wars in which the Jacobite forces secured a stunning victory at heavy cost, including the death of their leader, Bonnie Dundee; further notes it was the first battle in which the plug bayonet was deployed and was the first battle in which the hand grenade was used on British soil; is greatly concerned at the proposed encroachment on the battlefield site by the dualling of the A9 between Perth and Inverness; and calls on Transport Scotland to look once again at the planning of this route.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Pete Wishart20/02/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day21/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens21/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law22/02/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan26/02/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan26/02/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald26/02/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty26/02/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry27/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford27/02/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock27/02/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black28/02/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady01/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally01/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Bill Grant08/03/2018Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSigned
Angela Crawley08/03/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael12/03/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Kirsty Blackman21/03/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands26/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.