Parliament Website

Spanish Threat Of Direct Rule On Language In Catalonia

EDM number 969 in 2017-19, proposed by Hywel Williams on 22/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, International politics and government, Schools and Western Europe.

That this House condemns the Spanish Government's plans to impose direct rule over language provision in Catalonian schools; recognises that Catalonia is an autonomous self-governing community and reserves the right to ensure Catalan is the working language used in its schools; rejects the Spanish Government's plans which would divide Catalonian students on a language basis; and urges the Government to make representations to the Spanish Government to respect the will of the people of Catalonia and find a peaceful and democratic solution to the ongoing instability.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Hywel Williams22/02/2018ArfonPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts22/02/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards22/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake22/02/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Ronnie Cowan23/02/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil23/02/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman26/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day26/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Rosindell26/02/2018RomfordConservativeSigned
David Linden26/02/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry26/02/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan26/02/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens27/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer27/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle28/02/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Geoffrey Robinson12/03/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Mhairi Black12/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.