Parliament Website

Scottish Press Awards For Investigative Journalism On "gulf War Syndrome"

EDM number 1143 in 1993-94, proposed by Alan Simpson on 28/04/1994.

That this House congratulates Nic Outterside, chief reporter of the Galloway Gazette, for his special award of the year 'for his investigative journalism and individual tenacity', and Angus Macleod of the Sunday Mail, for his 'talent for disclosing stories in an aggressive and attacking writing style' in winning the journalist and reporter of the year award in the Scottish Press Awards made on 26th April; notes that both reporters revealed the hidden dangers of depleted uranium shell tests at Ministry of Defence test ranges, and unveiled the links between vapourised depleted uranium dust and the Gulf War or Desert Storm syndrome; believes these Scottish reporters have properly publicised a problem of national and international importance as recognised by investigations in the United States Congress and the United Nations Compensation Committee; and reiterates its call for an urgent public inquiry called for by the honourable Member for Newport West's Early Day Motion, Number 2217, of 24th June 1993.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Alan Simpson28/04/1994Nottingham SouthProposed
Robert Parry28/04/1994Liverpool, RiversideSigned
David Winnick28/04/1994Walsall NorthSigned
Tony Benn28/04/1994ChesterfieldSigned
Harry Barnes28/04/1994North East DerbyshireSigned
Irene Adams28/04/1994Paisley NorthSigned
George Foulkes28/04/1994Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleySigned
Paul Flynn28/04/1994Newport WestSigned
Derek Enright28/04/1994HemsworthSigned
Jim Cunningham28/04/1994Coventry South EastSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/04/1994Islington NorthSigned
Michael Connarty28/04/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Malcolm Chisholm28/04/1994Edinburgh LeithSigned
Dennis Skinner28/04/1994BolsoverSigned
Llew Smith28/04/1994Blaenau GwentSigned
Lynne Jones28/04/1994Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Eddie Loyden28/04/1994Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Alice Mahon28/04/1994HalifaxSigned
John McAllion28/04/1994Dundee EastSigned
Anne Campbell28/04/1994CambridgeSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours28/04/1994WorkingtonSigned
Harry Cohen28/04/1994LeytonSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/04/1994Blyth ValleySigned
John Cummings29/04/1994EasingtonSigned
John Battle03/05/1994Leeds WestSigned
Peter Hardy03/05/1994WentworthSigned
Norman Godman03/05/1994Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie03/05/1994Glasgow, PollokSigned
Eric Clarke03/05/1994MidlothianSigned
Menzies Campbell03/05/1994Fife North EastSigned
William McKelvey03/05/1994Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Ken Livingstone03/05/1994Brent EastSigned
John Heppell03/05/1994Nottingham EastSigned
Ernie Ross03/05/1994Dundee WestSigned
Alan Meale03/05/1994MansfieldSigned
Neil Gerrard04/05/1994WalthamstowSigned
Jim Wallace04/05/1994Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Tony Banks04/05/1994Newham North WestSigned
Andrew Faulds04/05/1994Warley EastSigned
John Evans04/05/1994St Helens NorthSigned
Jim Dowd04/05/1994Lewisham WestSigned
Ian McCartney04/05/1994MakerfieldSigned
Eric Illsley04/05/1994Barnsley CentralSigned
Keith Vaz05/05/1994Leicester EastSigned
Jeff Rooker09/05/1994Birmingham, Perry BarrSigned
Colin Pickthall10/05/1994West LancashireSigned
Win Griffiths16/05/1994BridgendSigned
Mike Watson17/05/1994Glasgow CentralSigned
Martyn Jones14/06/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Mike Hall22/06/1994Warrington SouthSigned
Audrey Wise07/07/1994PrestonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.