Parliament Website

Proposed Three Year Limitation On VAT Repayment Claims

EDM number 85 in 1996-97, proposed by Alex Salmond on 29/10/1996.

That this House notes with concern the impact on small businesses, pension funds, charities, NHS trusts and businesses generally of the Government's recently announced decision to introduce a three year limit on repayment to the taxpayer of overpaid VAT compared to a six year limit for the Exchequer; and, in view of the doubtful legality of the proposals, calls on the Government to enter a dialogue with businesses and others to ensure that an equitable and legal alternative position can be agreed which does not discriminate unfairly against the taxpayer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Alex Salmond29/10/1996Banff & BuchanProposed
Malcolm Bruce29/10/1996GordonSigned
John D Taylor29/10/1996StrangfordSigned
Dafydd Wigley29/10/1996CaernarfonSigned
Eric Illsley30/10/1996Barnsley CentralSigned
Lynne Jones30/10/1996Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Edward O'Hara30/10/1996Knowsley SouthSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe30/10/1996LeighSigned
Roseanna Cunningham30/10/1996Perth and KinrossSigned
Andrew Faulds30/10/1996Warley EastSigned
Roy Beggs30/10/1996East AntrimSigned
Jack Thompson30/10/1996WansbeckSigned
Brian Jenkins31/10/1996Staffordshire South EastSigned
Robert Wareing31/10/1996Liverpool, West DerbySigned
Norman Godman31/10/1996Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
John Evans31/10/1996St Helens NorthSigned
John Cummings31/10/1996EasingtonSigned
Bill Michie31/10/1996Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Colin Pickthall31/10/1996West LancashireSigned
Nigel Jones04/11/1996CheltenhamSigned
Robert McCartney05/11/1996North DownSigned
Michael Connarty05/11/1996Falkirk EastSigned
Matthew Taylor06/11/1996TruroSigned
Mike Hall06/11/1996Warrington SouthSigned
John Gunnell06/11/1996Leeds South and MorleySigned
Tommy Graham06/11/1996Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Menzies Campbell06/11/1996Fife North EastSigned
Don Foster06/11/1996BathSigned
David Rendel06/11/1996NewburySigned
Archy Kirkwood06/11/1996Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Nick Harvey07/11/1996North DevonSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones07/11/1996Ynys MSigned
Martyn Jones07/11/1996Clwyd South WestSigned
Diana Maddock07/11/1996ChristchurchSigned
Ray Michie07/11/1996Argyll & ButeSigned
Chris Davies07/11/1996Littleborough and SaddleworthSigned
Alan Beith07/11/1996Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
Emma Nicholson11/11/1996Torridge & West DevonSigned
Alex Carlile11/11/1996MontgomerySigned
Jim Wallace11/11/1996Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Russell Johnston12/11/1996Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Chris Mullin12/11/1996Sunderland SouthSigned
David Alton13/11/1996Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
David Steel13/11/1996Tweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleSigned
Rachel Squire14/11/1996Dunfermline WestSigned
Robert Maclennan14/11/1996Caithness and SutherlandSigned
Mildred Gordon14/11/1996Bow and PoplarSigned
Neil Gerrard18/11/1996WalthamstowSigned
Harold Walker20/11/1996Doncaster CentralSigned
Piara S Khabra21/11/1996Ealing, SouthallSigned
Jim Cunningham21/11/1996Coventry South EastSigned
Win Griffiths21/11/1996BridgendSigned
Austin Mitchell26/11/1996Great GrimsbySigned
Frank Field28/11/1996BirkenheadSigned
Allan Rogers03/12/1996RhonddaSigned
Ken Livingstone06/12/1996Brent EastSigned
David Clelland18/12/1996Tyne BridgeSigned
Stephen Timms13/01/1997Newham North EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.