Parliament Website

Social Security Appeals

EDM number 1683 in 1997-98, proposed by Bill Etherington on 22/10/1998.

That this House notes with concern the imminent change in the composition of social security appeal tribunals (SSATs); further believes that this change will adversely affect people whose claim has been turned down because they have not scored sufficient points in the All Work Test; notes that His Honour Judge Harris, on 25th September issued President's Circular No 16 which in effect from 2nd November dispenses with the requirement of two lay members of SSATs; believes that this decision will inevitably lead to a reduction in the quality of justice administered by the tribunals; further notes the present three-member tribunals include at least one member of the same sex as the claimant and also include the involvement of ethnic minority members in cases of ethnic minority appellants; believes this practice is of paramount importance; calls upon the Lord Chancellor immediately to rescind Circular No 16 before it takes effect on 2nd November; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to ensure that any future legislation provides that the composition of SSATs will include a chairman and two lay members.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Bill Etherington22/10/1998Sunderland NorthLabourProposed
Raymond Powell22/10/1998OgmoreLabourSigned
Gerry Steinberg22/10/1998Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Bill Michie26/10/1998Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon27/10/1998HalifaxLabourSigned
Steve Webb27/10/1998NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin27/10/1998Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie27/10/1998Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Godman27/10/1998Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Terry Lewis27/10/1998WorsleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon27/10/1998Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/10/1998BolsoverLabourSigned
Peter Pike27/10/1998BurnleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/10/1998Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Stewart28/10/1998EcclesLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe28/10/1998Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Roseanna Cunningham28/10/1998PerthScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Marsden28/10/1998Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley28/10/1998Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Alan Simpson28/10/1998Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Burstow28/10/1998Sutton & CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Pickthall29/10/1998West LancashireLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone29/10/1998Brent EastLabourSigned
John Cummings29/10/1998EasingtonLabourSigned
Paul Tyler29/10/1998North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/11/1998Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/11/1998KeighleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones03/11/1998CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George03/11/1998St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable03/11/1998TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell04/11/1998Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell04/11/1998Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Rendel05/11/1998NewburyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Wallace09/11/1998Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis10/11/1998Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker12/11/1998GedlingLabourSigned
Jonathan R Shaw16/11/1998Chatham & AylesfordLabourSigned
Terry Davis18/11/1998Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.