Parliament Website

25th Anniversary Of Bloody Sunday And The Need To Re-Examine The Events Of That Day

EDM number 28 in 1997-98, proposed by John Hume on 19/05/1997.

That this House unequivocally and totally condemns all violence; recalls the then Prime Minister, the Right honorable Member for Bexley's, strictures to Lord Widgery, the Lord Chief Justice, on 1st February 1972 that 'it had to be remembered that we were in Northern Ireland fighting not only a military war but a propaganda war' and that the Lord Justice said that 'the Tribunal would be asked to enquire into what happened, and not motives' and 'it would help if the inquiry could be restricted to what actually happened in those four minutes when men were shot and killed; this would enable the Tribunal to confine evidence to eye witnesses'; and calls upon the Government to reopen the inquiry to examine the Army's radio traffic recorded by Mr James de Wint-Porter at the time of shootings, the medical evidence which suggests that some of the victims were shot from the walls of Derry rather than ground level and whilst recalling the former Prime Minister, the honourable Member for Huntingdon's, statement that the Bloody Sunday dead were innocent, now calls upon the Prime Minister to repudiate all of the findings of the Widgery Tribunal and to recognise that having a full examination of all the relevant evidence including the Army's radio traffic, the fresh medical evidence and unexamined written statements of witnesses is the best way to exorcise the bitter memories of 25 years.

This motion has been signed by a total of 93 MPs.

John Hume19/05/1997FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Seamus Mallon19/05/1997Newry & ArmaghSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eddie McGrady19/05/1997South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kevin McNamara19/05/1997Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/05/1997Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Eric Clarke19/05/1997MidlothianLabourSigned
Harry Cohen19/05/1997Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/05/1997Newport WestLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe19/05/1997Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Norman Godman19/05/1997Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Joe Benton19/05/1997BootleLabourSigned
Roger Berry19/05/1997KingswoodLabourSigned
Lynne Jones20/05/1997Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Robert Wareing20/05/1997Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
John Austin20/05/1997Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
John Gunnell20/05/1997Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
John McAllion20/05/1997Dundee EastLabourSigned
Ernie Ross20/05/1997Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Hinchliffe21/05/1997WakefieldLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/05/1997Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Richard Burden21/05/1997Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/05/1997Islington NorthLabourSigned
Harry Barnes21/05/1997North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Winnick21/05/1997Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Roseanna Cunningham22/05/1997PerthScottish National PartySigned
Bill Etherington22/05/1997Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham22/05/1997Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Tom Cox22/05/1997TootingLabourSigned
Rachel Squire22/05/1997Dunfermline WestLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone02/06/1997Brent EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott03/06/1997Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt03/06/1997Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson04/06/1997Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/06/1997Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey05/06/1997North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew MacKinlay05/06/1997ThurrockLabourSigned
Dafydd Wigley10/06/1997CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Salter11/06/1997Reading WestLabourSigned
Paul Stinchcombe12/06/1997WellingboroughLabourSigned
Stephen Pound25/11/1997Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean26/11/1997BurtonLabourSigned
Maria Eagle26/11/1997Liverpool, GarstonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/11/1997Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jimmy Wray26/11/1997Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
David Crausby26/11/1997Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Chaytor26/11/1997Bury NorthLabourSigned
Jamie Cann26/11/1997IpswichLabourSigned
Bill Olner26/11/1997NuneatonLabourSigned
Louise Ellman26/11/1997Liverpool, RiversideLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeff Ennis26/11/1997Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Stuart Bell26/11/1997MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Ian Stewart26/11/1997EcclesLabourSigned
Mark Todd26/11/1997South DerbyshireLabourSigned
Dave Watts26/11/1997St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon26/11/1997Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Beverley Hughes26/11/1997Stretford & UrmstonLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith26/11/1997Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Peter Pike26/11/1997BurnleyLabourSigned
Syd Rapson26/11/1997Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge26/11/1997Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith26/11/1997Morecambe & LunesdaleLabourSigned
Helen Southworth26/11/1997Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Oona King26/11/1997Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
Christopher Leslie26/11/1997ShipleyLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis26/11/1997Bury SouthLabourSigned
Richard Livsey26/11/1997Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony McWalter26/11/1997Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McWilliam26/11/1997BlaydonLabourSigned
Margaret Moran26/11/1997Luton SouthLabourSigned
Chris Mullin26/11/1997Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/11/1997Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Welsh27/11/1997AngusScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ewing27/11/1997MorayScottish National PartySigned
Frank Cook27/11/1997Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Helen Jones27/11/1997Warrington NorthLabourSigned
John Home Robertson27/11/1997East LothianLabourSigned
Alex Salmond27/11/1997Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Bill Michie27/11/1997Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Martin O'Neill28/11/1997OchilLabourSigned
Tony Benn28/11/1997ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Rudi Vis28/11/1997Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick01/12/1997Poplar & Canning TownLabourSigned
Ian Gibson02/12/1997Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Harold Best02/12/1997Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd02/12/1997Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Andy King03/12/1997Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Alan Williams04/12/1997Carmarthen East & DinefwrLabourSigned
Iain Coleman05/12/1997Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/12/1997HendonLabourSigned
Keith Darvill16/12/1997UpminsterLabourSigned
Simon Hughes18/12/1997North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones13/01/1998Ynys MPlaid CymruSigned
Allan Rogers19/01/1998RhonddaLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.