Parliament Website

Trade Union Recognition

EDM number 291 in 1998-99, proposed by Alasdair Morgan on 09/02/1999.

That this House welcomes Government proposals to increase protection of workers rights; is concerned that a 40 per cent. rule for a bargaining unit to receive union recognition may prove a hurdle that could deny millions of working people the right to the full benefits of trade union membership; and further notes that it is a threshold that is higher than most honourable Members obtained at the 1997 general election.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Alasdair Morgan09/02/1999Galloway & Upper NithsdaleScottish National PartyProposed
Bob Russell10/02/1999ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Barnes10/02/1999North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Eric Clarke10/02/1999MidlothianLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/02/1999Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Salmond10/02/1999Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson11/02/1999Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Oona King11/02/1999Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
John McAllion11/02/1999Dundee EastLabourSigned
Norman Godman11/02/1999Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/02/1999GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer15/02/1999KeighleyLabourSigned
John Cummings15/02/1999EasingtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington15/02/1999Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George15/02/1999St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin15/02/1999Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Tom Cox16/02/1999TootingLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/02/1999Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Llew Smith22/02/1999Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara22/02/1999Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Audrey Wise22/02/1999PrestonLabourSigned
Gerry Steinberg23/02/1999Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Eric Illsley25/02/1999Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Swinney25/02/1999North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn26/02/1999Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer01/03/1999HornchurchLabourSigned
Nigel Jones04/03/1999CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell05/03/1999Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ewing19/03/1999MorayScottish National PartySigned
Nick Harvey22/03/1999North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roseanna Cunningham22/03/1999PerthScottish National PartySigned
Ken Livingstone05/05/1999Brent EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott10/05/1999Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.