Parliament Website

Human Rights In North East Sri Lanka

EDM number 830 in 1998-99, proposed by Edward Davey on 14/07/1999.

That this House views with great concern the official and unofficial embargoes on food and medicine to the Vanni and other Tamil areas in the north east of Sri Lanka which are causing enormous suffering, starvation and deaths in the civilian population; notes the lack of free flow of information in and out of these areas, including the ban on visits by the media, NGOs and human rights monitors to the Vanni; further notes the massacres, torture, extra-judicial killings, 'disappearances' and displacement of the Tamil people reported in the findings of the Special Rapporteur of the United Nations, and the existence of mass graves identified at Chemmani and the Duraigappah Football Stadium in the North as reported by Amnesty International and in the eastern province as reported by Joseph Parajasingham, Member of Parliament for Batticaloa; calls on Her Majesty's Government to intervene urgently with the Government of Sri Lanka to seek an immediate end to the embargoes on food and medicine to the affected areas, to secure an agreement to allow the international community to delivery humanitarian aid to the hundreds of thousands of internally displaced Tamils without any hindrance from the Sri Lankan security forces and to request an independent and impartial monitoring of the human rights and humanitarian situation, including an investigation with international experts into the mass graves at Chemmani, Ariyalai, Poompuhar and other areas in the Tamil homeland; and urges the International War Crimes Tribunal to investigate the situation in Sri Lanka.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Edward Davey14/07/1999Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew Love14/07/1999EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jenny Tonge14/07/1999Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock14/07/1999Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Gardiner14/07/1999Brent NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell15/07/1999ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon15/07/1999Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Keetch15/07/1999HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Alice Mahon15/07/1999HalifaxLabourSigned
Paul Marsden15/07/1999Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Peter Brand15/07/1999Isle of WightLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George15/07/1999St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard15/07/1999WalthamstowLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie15/07/1999Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/07/1999Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones16/07/1999Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bill Etherington16/07/1999Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ian Gibson16/07/1999Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe19/07/1999LeighLabourSigned
Ann Cryer20/07/1999KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Fearn20/07/1999SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/1999Islington NorthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt21/07/1999Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe21/07/1999Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
John Cummings21/07/1999EasingtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/1999Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/07/1999Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones21/07/1999CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson22/07/1999Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara22/07/1999Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton22/07/1999GowerLabourSigned
Dafydd Wigley23/07/1999CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Gunnell26/07/1999Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Audrey Wise26/07/1999PrestonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/07/1999North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Iain Coleman21/10/1999Hammersmith & FulhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.