Parliament Website

International Day Of Solidarity With Palestinian People

EDM number 1199 in 1999-00, proposed by Ernie Ross on 29/11/2000.

That this House believes that the implementation of UN resolutions 242, 338 and 194 must be the basis for a just and lasting peace in the Middle East; regrets the upsurge of violence in the Occupied Palestinian Territories over the last two months and deplores the excessive use of force by the Israeli defence forces against civilian protesters; further acknowledges the determination of the Palestinian people to end 33 years of occupation; believes that the creation of an Independent Palestinian State alongside the State of Israel is the only solution that will achieve security and stability for peoples of all nationalities, races and religions in the region; recognizes that under customary international law, an independent Palestinian State seeking membership of the United Nations must fulfill four basic criteria: a defined territory, a permanent population, a Government able to exercise effective control over the state's territory and independence in its external relations; and urges Israel and the Palestinians to reach a peace agreement based on mutual respect, an end to the occupation of the West Bank and Gaza and the creation of an Independent Palestinian State.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Ernie Ross29/11/2000Dundee WestLabourProposed
Nick St Aubyn29/11/2000GuildfordConservativeSeconded
Neil Gerrard29/11/2000WalthamstowLabourSeconded
Phyllis Starkey29/11/2000Milton Keynes South WestLabourSeconded
Menzies Campbell29/11/2000Fife North EastLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nicholas Soames29/11/2000Mid SussexConservativeSeconded
Jim Marshall29/11/2000Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe29/11/2000Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/11/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Tony Clarke29/11/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin29/11/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Austin29/11/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Ian Stewart29/11/2000EcclesLabourSigned
Anthony D Wright29/11/2000Great YarmouthLabourSigned
Alice Mahon29/11/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd29/11/2000Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Chris Ruane29/11/2000Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Christine Russell29/11/2000Chester, City ofLabourSigned
Ivan Henderson29/11/2000HarwichLabourSigned
Brian Iddon29/11/2000Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Keen29/11/2000Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andy King29/11/2000Rugby & KenilworthLabourSigned
Tess Kingham29/11/2000GloucesterLabourSigned
Bob Laxton29/11/2000Derby NorthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt29/11/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.