Parliament Website

Statement By The Right Honourable Member For Wells

EDM number 365 in 1999-00, proposed by Chris Ruane on 08/02/2000.

That this House notes the statement by the Right honourable Member for Wells, the Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury, in Treasury questions on 3rd February that the Government should stop 'scrabbling around trying to increase the level of handouts from the EU Budget' for those regions that have secured Objective One status from the European Union; calls upon the Right honourable Member urgently to clarify Conservative Party policy on this matter, given that Welsh Conservative members of the National Assembly for Wales are proposing to vote against the Labour administration in the assembly for its alleged failure to secure more money from Europe; and further calls upon the Right honourable Member to state unequivocally if it is now Conservative Party policy to refuse all structural fund from the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Chris Ruane08/02/2000Vale of ClwydLabourProposed
Julie Morgan08/02/2000Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Llew Smith08/02/2000Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Martyn Jones08/02/2000Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/02/2000GowerLabourSigned
Michael Clapham08/02/2000Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Huw Edwards08/02/2000MonmouthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths08/02/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Candy Atherton08/02/2000Falmouth & CamborneLabourSigned
Alan Williams08/02/2000Carmarthen East & DinefwrLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/02/2000ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/02/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Norman Godman09/02/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Eric Illsley09/02/2000Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/02/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean10/02/2000BurtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/02/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Dari Taylor10/02/2000Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore14/02/2000HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/02/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Tyler17/02/2000North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin21/02/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/03/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours14/03/2000WorkingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.